SB Day Seven Begins...

>> Monday, August 23, 2010

Good morning friends, happy....Monday?? Yuck. Mondays are not my favorite day of the week. But this Monday marks the beginning of my 7th day on South Beach phase 1. If you've been reading my blog, you'll know that phase one is TWO weeks of NO carbs. Not fun, not fun at all my friends.

I am going to tell you the truth, this is extremely hard. I don't know if this weekend was so excruciating because it was just that, the weekend, or if it's because I really hate this phase and want it to die. Either way, I had a very difficult time over the weekend. But, by sheer will power and determination, I made it. The weekend is over and I successfully stayed on the plan. No carbs for this bread loving girl.

Yesterday we went to a friends house for dinner - they had hamburgers and ribs...yummmm! I, instead, had a hamburger patty with mustard and 2% cheese on it, and steamed broccoli and cauliflower with 2% cheese on it. It was filling. And the good news is that I stepped on the scale this morning and I'm down 4.5 lbs. So my hard work is paying off at least....

If you notice I lack enthusiasm over this diet today, it's because I do. I find myself obsessing over carbs at night. Last night it was Raisin Bran. All I wanted was Raisin Bran. Sooooo bad. It was awful. When I was on Weight Watchers the beauty was that if I wanted that raisin bran, I could have it. You just watch your portions. And if you want to splurge one night, you can, because the plan allows for that. So, today I find myself wondering if this is the right diet for me. So restrictive. I realize it's just two weeks, but I am really contemplating going back on Weight Watchers (the points system) or back to just plain old counting calories. I'm just not sure. I plan on sticking with South Beach today, but I am going to seriously think about what works best for me. I don't like feeling deprived. :(

Well, that's all for now. I'll be back later to tell you about whether I'm sticking with it another week, or if I'm switching back to my old "go-to" Weight Watchers. It always worked for me when I put my mind to it....

Until next time, happy eating and thanks for reading!!

-Sommer

4 comments:

Kat,  August 23, 2010 at 10:15 AM  

Good luck Sommer. 4.5 lbs is a great start.
Keep us posted.

Gina August 23, 2010 at 1:10 PM  

Keep it up girl, whatever route you decide! I have tried the no-carb, and too, I struggle greatly! I figured I would just exercise my butt off (literally) because it was worth it to have the food I wanted! Good Luck!

Sommer August 23, 2010 at 10:05 PM  

Thank you Gina! It certainly is a struggle! You keep it up too with the exercise! That's not a bad idea....work your butt off at the gym, have what you want to eat. Hmmm... LOL.

Post a Comment

  © Blogger template Simple n' Sweet by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP